Stay Fueled Up

Many of us learned to drive in our teen years. And who ever taught us to drive had to show us what all the gauges meant and how to use them. On that instrument panel is a gauge that tells you how much gas you have in the fuel tank. I have countless times run that tank to nothing but a drop of gas coasting into a gas station. All because I wasn’t paying attention to how fueled up my car was.

Once on a long road trip with my wife. We were driving a long stretch of desert between Phoenix and Los Angeles, a stretch of road we had not driven before. With my 1 year old daughter asleep in the back seat. We both agreed to skip a town and push on to the next stop before we filled up. As we got further in to the Desert badlands of California and the fuel gauge drifted towards the E, we both started to panic. We got out our cell phone and starting calling the police and looking for a gas station on the map. The nice officer who answered the phone assured us that there was a gas station with in a few miles and we would be there soon. Even though I believed her I white knuckled the steering wheel the rest of the trip until the gas station was in view.

On a spiritual level we often do the same. Wandering through life on our own power never checking the dash board to see how we are doing with the God and the Holy Spirit, our guide. Then when a situation comes up that overwhelms us we panic trying desperately to hear from God.

I’ve known lots of people who have come to Christ through just such a process as well. Life came at them fast, job loss, cancer, divorce, etc. and through an overwhelming sense of incompleteness they turned to God.

This is the not to be the state for followers and disciples of Christ.

“I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.” John 15:5 (NIV)

If we are true disciples of Christ, our aim is to be like our Savior. Jesus walked in communion with God at all times, and we are to do the same. If you want to react to life in Christ like manner you have to stay connected to Christ, always.

What do you do to stay “Fueled Up”

Leave a comment